Você está aqui: Página Inicial > Eventos > FIRST LIGHT: School for Graduate Students (1st announcement)

FIRST LIGHT: School for Graduate Students (1st announcement)

The Institute of Astronomy, Geophysics and Atmospheric Sciences of the University of São Paulo (IAG-USP) is pleased to announce the São Paulo School of Advanced Science FIRST LIGHT: stars, galaxies and black holes in the epoch of reionization
Quando 28/07/2019 a 00h00 07/08/2019 a 00h00 a
Onde IAG-USP, São Paulo
Nome do Contato
Adicionar evento ao calendário vCal

This intensive, 10-day school is aimed at graduate students interested in the theory and observations of the epoch of reionization. The school features 8 courses delivered by top international experts that will cover the cosmic dark ages, neutral hydrogen experiments, the formation of the first stars, galaxies and black holes, and the evolution of the first objects to their present-day descendants. Focus lectures and tutorial sessions by local experts will highlight new instrumentation and surveys relevant to the topic, including the James Webb Space Telescope, the Giant Magellan Telescope and the Subaru Prime Focus Spectrograph, and provide students with a practical introduction to the school's topics. Thanks to a generous grant from the São Paulo State Research Foundation (FAPESP), the school will fully fund the participation (airfare and accommodation) of about 100 students, with a roughly 50/50 split between local and international students. Priority will be given to students enrolled in graduate programs (MSc or PhD) and that are active in one of the research areas related to the school. To apply, students should submit a brief letter of motivation, research statement, transcript of their grades, and CV, and arrange one letter of recommendation by their advisor.

Details and registration: http://www.firstlight.iag.usp.br/
Application deadline: April 15, 2019
Announcement of selections: May 6, 2019
Inquiries: Roderik Overzier (firstlight@iag.usp.br)

Organization will pay 100% of the travel costs of all selected participants that don't have other grants for travel.

Lecture courses:
Rennan Barkana, Xiaohui Fan, Ken Nagamine, Renske Smit, Patricia Tissera, Naoki Yoshida, Saleem Zaroubi, and Adi Zitrin, + focus lectures, student presentations, posters and more.

SOC: Laerte Sodré Jr. (Co-Chair), Roderik Overzier (Co-Chair), Raul Abramo, Volker Bromm, Eduardo Cypriano, Xiaohui Fan, Garth Illingworth, Nobunari Kashikawa, Rodrigo Nemmen, Rogier Windhorst

Mais informações sobre esse evento…

registrado em: